HomeResearch & guides

OpenAssistant vs Manus: two ways to hand work to an AI agent

A central brief in an open tray with two diverging paper paths, one through a personal desk of envelope and calendar objects, the other through a magnifier and miniature globe, comparing delegation approaches.

If you want a Manus alternative that works as an ongoing assistant, with its own email address, phone number and Slack presence and approvals you set per action, pick OpenAssistant. If you want to hand over a big one-off job, especially research across dozens or hundreds of items, Manus is built for that and is the better fit. The two products solve different problems, so this page compares them row by row from each vendor’s own pages.

Options at a glance

We weighed the same five things for both products: whether the documented capabilities cover the job, the vendor-published evidence and its limitations, price for what you get, where it works, and privacy, security and admin controls. The job decides the winner.

The table uses the linked vendor pages.

OpenAssistant Manus
What it is An AI assistant that acts for you with its own name, email address, phone number, calendar and sandboxed computer (OpenAssistant site) “An autonomous general AI agent designed to complete tasks,” described as a virtual colleague with its own computer (Manus docs)
How you give it work Email it, Cc it on a thread, text it, DM it in Slack, or use the dashboard, which also tracks work from every channel (OpenAssistant help center). Coordinator Mode lets a scheduling professional use it on behalf of another person (help article) Hand it a task in its web, desktop or mobile apps for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android (Manus download page). Work runs in a Cloud Browser, a browser extension (Browser Operator) or a desktop mode (My Computer) (Cloud Browser, Browser Operator, Desktop). You can also tag @manus in Slack threads (Manus Slack page)
Channels Email, iMessage, SMS, WhatsApp, phone calls, Slack and a web app (OpenAssistant site). The help center lists dashboard, email, Slack, SMS and WhatsApp (help center) Web, desktop and mobile apps (Manus download page). A Slack integration: tag @manus in a thread, and in a shared thread only the first user’s request is processed (Manus Slack page). Email and phone calls for the main agent: not stated on the pages read
Own identity Own name, email inbox or address on your company domain, phone number, calendar and sandboxed computer (OpenAssistant site) The main agent has its own computer. The 2.0 post says Cue agents each have their own email, phone number and computer, and Cue is in early access, free with an invite code (Manus 2.0 post)
Approvals Manual, Confirmation Window or Autonomous, set globally or per action type (OpenAssistant autonomy article); an admin can lock the settings (OpenAssistant site) Browser Operator needs you to authorize every session; every local desktop command needs approval, with Allow Once or Always Allow; Cloud Browser hands over to you for SMS, CAPTCHA and MFA (Browser Operator, Desktop, Cloud Browser)
Price Pro $72 a month or $60 a month billed annually; Team $120 or $100; both at the 5,000-credit tier, with higher tiers costing more (OpenAssistant pricing; per-user pricing confirmed by 3Gen) Three paid cards with no plan names shown: $20, $40 and $200 a month on the monthly toggle, or $17, $34 and $167 a month billed yearly. Team is a separate option with no price on the page (Manus pricing)
Free plan Starter: 1,000 credits at signup, then 100 bonus credits a day once used up, up to 1,000 a month (OpenAssistant pricing) The docs describe a Free plan with limited monthly credits (Manus plans docs), but the pricing page cards captured show no free card (Manus pricing)
Security statements SOC 2 Type II audited annually by an independent CPA firm, GDPR and CCPA compliant, “We never train on your data” (OpenAssistant Trust Center) Docs say Manus does not store your passwords (Cloud Browser). Prompt injection and training on user data: not stated on the pages read. The privacy policy and trust center were not read for this article
Limits Not in group texts or group WhatsApp chats; not every country supported for texting; not in Slack Connect channels with outside companies; plan credits do not roll over (help center, phone setup, Slack article, pricing) 20 concurrent tasks and 20 scheduled tasks on all three cards; plan credits reset monthly; Cloud Browser uses data center IPs; Browser Operator recommends Chrome and Edge (Manus pricing, plans docs, Cloud Browser, Browser Operator)

OpenAssistant

The homepage says, “Each assistant has their own computer, email address, and phone number.” (OpenAssistant site). The product is built around handing work to a named assistant you reach the way you would reach a colleague: Cc it on an email thread, text it, or DM it in Slack. It can also place and receive calls (OpenAssistant site).

What it does:

Price: Starter is free. Pro is $72 a month, or $60 a month billed annually; Team is $120 a month, or $100 billed annually; both at the 5,000-credit tier, and higher credit tiers cost more (OpenAssistant pricing; per-user pricing confirmed by 3Gen). Annual billing gets 2 months free, which matches the numbers: 10 months at $72 is $720, or $60 a month (pricing details). Simple tasks use about 10 to 50 credits, and deep research or multi-person meeting work uses hundreds.

Watch out for: it is a general work assistant, not a specialist for deep research at scale, coding, outbound sales or a support desk. It does not join group texts, it does not work in Slack Connect channels with outside companies, and texting is not supported in every country. Plan credits do not roll over.

Manus

Manus calls itself “an autonomous general AI agent designed to complete tasks” (Manus docs). The Manus 2.0 post, dated Monday, September 28 (it does not print a year), adds Cloud Computer, Automations, Studio, the Cue app and Computer Use (Manus 2.0 post).

What it does:

Price: the pricing page shows three paid cards with no plan names. On the monthly toggle they are $20 for 4,000 credits a month, $40 for 8,000 credits a month by default, and $200 for 40,000 credits a month. Billed yearly, the page shows $17, $34 and $167 a month. All three include 300 refresh credits every day, 20 concurrent tasks and 20 scheduled tasks. The $40 and $200 cards have a selector for other credit amounts (Manus pricing; annual prices read from the page’s annual toggle). The docs say credits are used by task complexity, plan credits reset monthly, and purchased add-on credits never expire (Manus plans docs). A Cloud Computer can be bought, but no price appeared on the pages read.

Watch out for: the docs name Free, Pro and Team plans, but the pricing page cards read show three unnamed paid cards and no free card. This article follows the pricing page for prices and treats a free plan as unconfirmed. Manus credits and OpenAssistant credits are different units, so do not compare credit counts across the two. The Cloud Browser page carries a warning that it uses data center IPs (Cloud Browser).

Verdict: which to pick

Pick OpenAssistant if you want an assistant that stays on your side every day: it has its own email, phone number and Slack presence, you can reach it by text or call, and you decide per action whether it waits for approval. It also has a free plan with no card, a SOC 2 Type II statement and admin locks for teams. Its pages are built around scheduling, follow-ups, inbox work and meeting prep, which Manus’s pages do not describe as a focus.

Pick Manus where it is plainly stronger:

Some teams may want both: Manus for a heavy research run, OpenAssistant for the daily work of email, calendar and chat. For more picks, see best AI agents in 2026 and AI agent pricing explained.

What to ask each vendor

What to keep for humans

Frequently asked questions

Is OpenAssistant a Manus alternative?

For ongoing work through email, text, calls and Slack, yes. OpenAssistant is an assistant with its own identity and per-action approvals. For wide parallel research or work on your local browser and files, Manus documents more, so use it for those jobs.

How much does Manus cost compared with OpenAssistant?

Manus shows three paid cards at $20, $40 and $200 a month, or $17, $34 and $167 a month billed yearly (Manus pricing). OpenAssistant Pro is $72 a month or $60 billed annually, and Team is $120 or $100, per user at the 5,000-credit tier (OpenAssistant pricing; per-user pricing confirmed by 3Gen). Credits are different units, so compare what each plan lets you do, not the credit counts.

Does Manus have a free plan?

The Manus docs describe a Free plan with limited monthly credits, but the pricing page cards show only paid plans. Check the page when you sign up. OpenAssistant’s Starter plan is free, with 1,000 credits at signup, then 100 bonus credits a day once used up, up to 1,000 a month.

Can Manus send email and make phone calls like OpenAssistant?

The Manus 2.0 post says Cue agents have their own email address and phone number, and Cue is in early access with an invite code. The pages read for the main Manus agent do not state email or calls as channels. OpenAssistant lists email, text, calls and Slack on its site.

Does OpenAssistant do wide research like Manus?

OpenAssistant returns research briefs, such as a report and spreadsheet on a company. Only Manus describes a feature that splits a research job across hundreds of parallel sub-agents.

Try OpenAssistant

If you want an assistant that handles email, scheduling and follow-ups across your channels, start with the free Starter plan at openassistant.us. It needs no credit card, and you can compare paid options on the pricing page.