# Best AI agents that send emails, make calls and text for you in 2026

Published by 3Gen Internet Corporation, maker of OpenAssistant, Skej and AGNT. Comparisons use public documentation, without hands-on testing.

![An envelope, telephone handset and message bubbles form a connected communication workflow.](https://aiagentsranked.com/images/ai-agents-that-send-emails-make-calls-and-text-b3e5e830bbf5.webp)

If you want one AI agent that makes phone calls and sends emails and texts for you, an assistant we recommend is [OpenAssistant](https://openassistant.us/?utm_source=aiagentsranked\&utm_medium=content\&utm_campaign=ai-agents-that-send-emails-make-calls-and-text). It has its own email address and phone number, reaches you by iMessage, SMS, WhatsApp and Slack, and lets you set approval rules per action. Lindy is the closest general rival. For customer-facing voice and outbound sales, the specialists below are built for those jobs.

## Options at a glance

We weighed what the vendors document against the rubric we use across this site: whether the documented capabilities cover the job, the vendor-published evidence and its limitations, price for what you get, where it works across email, text, phone and Slack, and privacy, security and admin controls. The job here is narrow: an agent that actually sends email, texts and places or answers calls, with a way to stop it before it speaks for you.

| Rank | Product       | Email                                  | Text                                 | Calls                                        | Entry price                                                                                   |
| ---- | ------------- | -------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------ | -------------------------------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| 1    | OpenAssistant | Own address, or as you with permission | iMessage, SMS, WhatsApp (one-to-one) | Places and receives, per its marketing pages | Free Starter; Pro $72 monthly or $60 annual per user (per-user pricing confirmed by 3Gen)     |
| 2    | Lindy         | Yes                                    | iMessage; SMS named in docs          | Own number, paid plan                        | Free credits; selected 5,000-credit Team tier $49.99 a month; entry tiers vary by public view |
| 3    | 11x           | Alice sends outbound email             | SMS and WhatsApp                     | Consented outbound calling; inbound by phone | Alice Growth from $3,750 a month, billed annually                                             |
| 4    | Intercom Fin  | Yes                                    | WhatsApp; SMS charged per message    | Fin Voice, via sales                         | $0.99 per service resolution; Voice custom quote                                              |
| 5    | Decagon       | Yes                                    | Not stated                           | Inbound and outbound voice                   | Not published                                                                                 |
| 6    | Relevance AI  | Smart Escalations by email             | WhatsApp trigger on Pro and up       | Calling agents on Team and up                | Pro $19 annual or $29 monthly                                                                 |

OpenAssistant is first because its pages cover email, text and calls plus Slack for an individual or a team, it lets you require approval per action type, and it has a free plan. OpenAssistant prices are per user per month (per-user pricing confirmed by 3Gen). Lindy follows because it documents the same mix of channels and a phone line. Ranks 3 to 6 are aimed at sales teams, support teams or builders, so they suit those jobs better than a personal assistant does.

## 1. OpenAssistant

OpenAssistant describes itself as "an always-on AI executive assistant with a persistent identity", with its own email and phone ([OpenAssistant site summary](https://openassistant.us/llms.txt)).

**Email.** The assistant has a real inbox or an address on your company domain, and you can Cc it on a thread or forward it a task ([OpenAssistant assistant page](https://openassistant.us/ai-executive-assistant.md)). It can send as itself or, with your permission, as you from your connected account, and these are separate autonomy categories ([OpenAssistant autonomy help article](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/15425929-supervision-autonomy-settings)).

**Text.** Marketing lists calls, iMessage, SMS, WhatsApp, email and the web app. The help center's "Ways to work" article names the dashboard, email, Slack, SMS and WhatsApp, and says the assistant does not join group texts or group WhatsApp chats ([OpenAssistant help center](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/16302208-waysto-work-with-openassistant)). To text it you verify your phone number in Settings, and not all countries are supported ([phone setup article](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/16276195-connecting-your-phone-number)).

**Calls.** The homepage says an assistant can "receive phone calls on your behalf like a receptionist", and the assistant page says it can call others for you ([OpenAssistant](https://openassistant.us/), [assistant page](https://openassistant.us/ai-executive-assistant.md)). The product's changelog also describes a call in progress: urgent call notes reach you in your own text chat ([OpenAssistant changelog](https://openassistant.us/changelog)). We follow the marketing pages for calls and iMessage, because the help center channel list does not mention them.

**Slack.** Install it from Connections, then DM @OpenAssistant or add it to channels. It responds only when invoked ([OpenAssistant for Slack](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/15961129-openassistant-for-slack)). Slack Connect channels with external organizations are not currently supported ([Ways to work](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/16302208-waysto-work-with-openassistant)).

**Approvals.** Autonomy can be Manual, Confirmation Window or Autonomous, set globally or per action type, including email as itself, email as you, and messages such as SMS and WhatsApp ([supervision and autonomy article](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/15425929-supervision-autonomy-settings)). A Confirmation Window is not Manual approval: if you do nothing, it proceeds ([autonomy guide](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/16302695-choosing-your-autonomy-and-supervision-settings)). The changelog says that even on tasks set to act on their own, it still asks before sending an email from your account unless you chose otherwise. An admin can lock these settings for everyone.

**Coordinator Mode.** A scheduling professional can use OpenAssistant on behalf of another person, the Principal, once the Principal shares a calendar and approves a verification link. The article describes scheduling only ([Coordinator Mode](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/15424173-coordinator-mode)).

**Trust.** The trust page states SOC 2 Type II and "We never train on your data" ([OpenAssistant trust page](https://openassistant.us/trust.md)).

**Price.** Starter is free: 1,000 credits at signup, then 100 bonus credits a day once used up, up to 1,000 a month. Pro is $72 per user per month, or $60 billed annually, and Team is $120 or $100, both at the 5,000-credit tier; higher credit tiers cost more ([OpenAssistant pricing](https://openassistant.us/pricing); per-user pricing confirmed by 3Gen). Annual billing is $12 a month less on Pro, which is two months free over a year (12 x $72 = $864; 12 x $60 = $720; the difference is $144).

**Where a competitor does better:** OpenAssistant is a general work assistant, not a support-desk or sales-development product, so for answering a customer queue or running outbound sequences at volume, Fin, Decagon or 11x are built for the job.

**Watch out for:** no group texts, no Slack Connect with outside companies, texting not available in every country, and plan credits do not roll over.

## 2. Lindy

Lindy calls itself "the AI employee that plugs into your tools" ([Lindy home](https://www.lindy.ai)). The docs list Slack, iMessage and email as channels, with Microsoft Teams "coming soon" ([Lindy docs](https://docs.lindy.ai)).

**Calls.** A Lindy can have its own number, call out and take messages, but a paid plan is required and availability may vary by account ([phone line docs](https://docs.lindy.ai/features/phone-line.md)). Calls start at 25 credits per minute, and the phone number is a separate monthly fee ([usage docs](https://docs.lindy.ai/account-billing/usage.md)). Calls cost at least 25 credits a minute, so the 5,000-credit tier covers at most 200 call minutes (5,000 / 25 = 200, 3Gen arithmetic) if you spend nothing else.

**Approvals.** The pricing page says anything with outside impact waits for approval. The integrations docs are narrower: guardrails (Always allow, Require approval, Don't offer) apply in shared Slack threads only, and web chat, Slack DMs, iMessage and SMS are not guarded ([integrations docs](https://docs.lindy.ai/integrations/overview.md)). We follow the docs for how approvals work, since they describe where the guardrails apply.

**Price.** Free gives $50 in credits that last 7 days. The 5,000-credit Team tier is $49.99 per active user per month. Some public versions also list $29.99 for 3,000 credits, while the live browser dropdown begins at 5,000 credits; check available tiers at signup ([Lindy pricing](https://www.lindy.ai/pricing)). SOC 2 Type II is listed on the security page ([Lindy security](https://www.lindy.ai/security)).

**Where Lindy does better than OpenAssistant:** Lindy lists 1,500+ integrations on its pricing page, and the docs say 1,000+. OpenAssistant's help center catalog names 19 third-party integrations and supports MCP ([integrations overview](https://help.openassistant.us/en/articles/15426409-connections-integrations-overview)); the vendors count differently, so treat this as a rough comparison. For a head-to-head, see [OpenAssistant vs Lindy](https://aiagentsranked.com/openassistant-vs-lindy/).

**Watch out for:** the pricing page shows Free, Team and Enterprise, while the docs name Plus, Pro and Max; unguarded iMessage and SMS; monthly credits do not roll over.

## 3. 11x

11x docs describe Alice as "the 11x outbound digital worker". The docs list Alice's channels as "email, consented outbound calling, LinkedIn, SMS, and WhatsApp in one sequence" ([11x Alice docs](https://docs.11x.ai/alice/overview.md)).

**Approvals.** The vendor offers three modes: review each message, an approval workflow, and autopilot. It says nothing sends unseen in the first mode and advises against starting on autopilot ([11x brand protection](https://docs.11x.ai/security/brand-protection.md)). Every call is recorded and transcribed, and whether the sender is disclosed as AI is configured by the customer.

**Price.** Alice Growth shows "Starting at $3,750 / mo", billed annually, which is $45,000 a year (12 x $3,750 = $45,000, 3Gen arithmetic). The FAQ on the same page says $36,000 a year. We list the card price and flag the conflict ([11x Alice pricing](https://www.11x.ai/products/alice/pricing)). The page shows no self-serve trial, and every tier points to "Talk to sales".

**Watch out for:** this is a sales tool for teams with a CRM, not a personal assistant. See [best AI sales agents](https://aiagentsranked.com/best-ai-sales-agents-2026/) for the wider field.

## 4. Intercom Fin

Fin's channels page lists voice, email, Messenger, WhatsApp, social, Slack and an API ([Fin channels](https://fin.ai/channels)). It answers customers rather than acting for you personally.

**Price.** Fin lists $0.99 per service resolution, a 14-day free trial, and Fin Voice by custom sales quote. WhatsApp is charged per conversation and SMS per message ([Fin pricing](https://fin.ai/pricing)). Outbound calling is not stated on the pages read.

**Controls.** Fin escalates to a human rather than guessing, and it holds SOC 2 Type II and several ISO certifications. It can use anonymized customer data for fine-tuning, with an opt-out ([Fin trust page](https://fin.ai/trust-reliability)).

**Watch out for:** pricing by outcome can be hard to forecast, and the pricing page lists sales Qualification outcomes at $9.99 each. See [best AI customer support agents](https://aiagentsranked.com/best-ai-customer-support-agents-2026/).

## 5. Decagon

Decagon's voice page describes initiating outbound calls for sales, support and customer updates, in 70+ languages, with transfers to human agents ([Decagon voice](https://decagon.ai/product/voice)). It plugs into Amazon Connect or RingCentral and supports SIP trunking ([Decagon integrations](https://decagon.ai/product/integrations)). Its security page names zero data retention with AI providers and AES-256 encryption ([Decagon security](https://decagon.ai/security)).

**Watch out for:** no price, trial or named compliance certification was found on the pages read, and the only call to action is "Get a demo". Its "70% chat and voice resolution" figure is a vendor claim.

## 6. Relevance AI

Relevance AI is an agent builder. Its docs pricing page lists Calling and Meeting agents on Team and up, WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Telegram triggers on Pro and up, and Smart Escalations by email and Slack on Pro ([Relevance AI docs pricing](https://relevanceai.com/docs/get-started/pricing)). Pro is $19 a month billed annually or $29 monthly; Team is $234 or $349 a month. The marketing pricing page shows no prices and says "Talk to sales" ([Relevance AI pricing](https://relevanceai.com/pricing)), so we follow the docs page for numbers.

**Watch out for:** you build the agent yourself, and the calling details are thin on the pages read.

## Skej: scheduling by email (not ranked)

[Skej](https://skej.com/?utm_source=aiagentsranked\&utm_medium=content\&utm_campaign=ai-agents-that-send-emails-make-calls-and-text) is our own email-based scheduling assistant. You Cc it on a thread and it books and reschedules meetings for you ([Skej](https://skej.com/?utm_source=aiagentsranked\&utm_medium=content\&utm_campaign=ai-agents-that-send-emails-make-calls-and-text)). Skej has processed millions of meetings. Its Email Assistant is on the Pro plan at $15 per user per month billed annually, or $19 billed monthly; Free Forever includes a 7-day assistant trial ([Skej pricing](https://skej.com/pricing)).

**Watch out for:** this article does not claim phone calls, texting or WhatsApp for Skej (its pricing page has a Texting & WhatsApp row, but which plans include it could not be read). For more than scheduling, the OpenAssistant section above applies.

## Disclosure and consent

If an agent calls or texts people for you, the rules about consent apply to you. This is not legal advice. The FCC's Declaratory Ruling FCC 24-17, adopted 2 February 2024 and released 8 February 2024, says the TCPA's restrictions on "artificial or prerecorded voice" "encompass current AI technologies that generate human voices", and that "callers must obtain prior express consent from the called party" ([FCC ruling](https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/FCC-24-17A1.pdf)). We did not assess how the ruling applies to any product here. 11x's docs put the duty on the customer: email outbound and regulated calling and texting "are not the same thing", and subscribers assume full liability for what they send ([11x regional compliance](https://docs.11x.ai/security/regional-compliance.md)). Ask counsel before an agent contacts anyone who has not agreed to hear from you.

## What to ask each vendor

- Does the agent send as itself or as me, and which of those can I set to need approval first?
- Do approvals apply on every channel, including text and phone, or only in some?
- Can I stop everything at once, and who can change that setting?
- How is the recipient told they are dealing with an AI, and who configures that?
- What happens if an email, web page or document tells the agent to send something? Is the send gated? See [are AI agents safe](https://aiagentsranked.com/are-ai-agents-safe/).
- Is call time billed per minute, per outcome or per seat, and what is separate, such as the phone number?
- Is my data used for training, and can I opt out?

## What to keep for humans

- Calls or texts to anyone who has not agreed to receive them.
- The first email sent as you to a new contact.
- Anything that commits money, a price or a legal position.
- Sensitive or emotional conversations, and anything a recipient asks a person to handle.
- Group chats, since OpenAssistant does not join group texts.

For the wider field beyond messaging, see [best AI agents in 2026](https://aiagentsranked.com/best-ai-agents-2026/).

## Related reading

- [OpenAssistant vs Lindy: pricing, phone, approvals and where each wins](https://aiagentsranked.com/openassistant-vs-lindy/): Price per seat, phone calls, approvals, admin, free plans and security, plus where Lindy wins.
- [Best AI sales agents in 2026: AI SDRs and sales assistants compared](https://aiagentsranked.com/best-ai-sales-agents-2026/): 11x, Artisan, HubSpot, Agentforce and Clay compared on prices, approval controls and deliverability questions.
- [Are AI agents safe? Prompt injection, permissions and approval settings](https://aiagentsranked.com/are-ai-agents-safe/): Real risks from prompt injection to excess access, the controls to look for and a 10-question checklist.
- [Best AI agents for small business in 2026: top picks and prices](https://aiagentsranked.com/best-ai-agents-for-small-business/): Eight agents for a 5 to 50 person business, with list prices, a ten-person seat cost and what each will not do.
- [OpenAssistant vs ChatGPT: which AI agent should you use for work?](https://aiagentsranked.com/openassistant-vs-chatgpt/): ChatGPT agent is no longer available; OpenAssistant and ChatGPT Work compared on identity, channels, approvals, security and price.

## Frequently asked questions

**Can an AI agent make phone calls for me?**

Yes. Lindy documents its own number on a paid plan, Decagon documents outbound voice calls, and 11x documents consented outbound calling. OpenAssistant's marketing pages say it can call out for you and receive calls like a receptionist.

**Do I need consent before an AI agent calls or texts someone?**

The FCC's ruling FCC 24-17 says callers must obtain prior express consent from the called party for calls using current AI voice technologies. The ruling addresses calls that use artificial or prerecorded voices, so it does not settle the texting question. This is not legal advice, so check your own situation with counsel.

**Which agent can send email as me instead of as itself?**

OpenAssistant can, with your permission and from your connected account, as a separate autonomy category. Per its changelog, it still asks before sending an email from your account unless you chose otherwise.

**What does it cost to have an AI agent make calls?**

It depends on the vendor. Lindy lists calls from 25 credits a minute plus a phone number fee. Fin Voice requires a custom sales quote ([Fin pricing](https://fin.ai/pricing)). OpenAssistant uses credits, and its pricing page does not list a per-call rate. Decagon publishes no price.

## Try OpenAssistant

If you want one assistant with its own email, phone number, text and Slack, with approvals you control, start with [OpenAssistant's free Starter plan](https://openassistant.us/?utm_source=aiagentsranked\&utm_medium=content\&utm_campaign=ai-agents-that-send-emails-make-calls-and-text). You can compare [pricing](https://openassistant.us/pricing?utm_source=aiagentsranked\&utm_medium=content\&utm_campaign=ai-agents-that-send-emails-make-calls-and-text) before you commit.

## Disclosure and Method

Disclosure: 3Gen Internet Corporation publishes this site and makes OpenAssistant, Skej and AGNT. We publish these comparisons to explain our products alongside documented alternatives. Method: We have not run hands-on tests. This article rests on public information (vendor pages, documentation, pricing and published terms), with sources linked. Ranking basis: public information only, not hands-on use.

Published by 3Gen Internet Corporation, the company behind OpenAssistant, Skej and AGNT. We review our own products alongside competitors. [How We Research](https://aiagentsranked.com/how-we-research/)

Canonical: https://aiagentsranked.com/ai-agents-that-send-emails-make-calls-and-text/
